Hey, Diane! Where have you been?

Obviously not blogging.

I was down with pneumonia for a while and it’s just taken time to get my act (and breath) back together.

Then it was off to Salt Lake City. The Jarvis and Constance Doctorow Family Foundation

doctorow

gave me a mini-grant to get me to town and to the Sunnyvale Neighborhood Center for writing workshops with refugee youth. A LOT of them. Ages 5-17. Some recent arrivals just learning English. We’re publishing a little book of their work and I’m posting IF YOU REALLY KNEW ME, the PDF version of it here so anyone who’s interested can download it.

It wasn’t all work. Visits with friends, exhilarating hikes in Bryce Canyon…and now I’m exhausted. I’ll post a few photos and then take a nap!

IMGP4240

more hikers

more bryce

canyon 1

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Hey, Diane! Where have you been?”

  1. Jeff Nguyen Says:

    Hope you’re feeling better, Diane. “If You Really Knew Me” was a great read.

  2. desilef Says:

    Thank you, Jeff. I hope you’re doing better too. I’m still coughing and fatigued but at least I’m back on my feet! (when not sitting at the computer)

  3. carolahand Says:

    Diane, it’s so good to hear from you! I’m glad to hear that you are recovering 🙂

    This is such an exciting project (and lovely photos). I look forward to reading more about your work. (P.S. – I wasn’t able to open the attachment – “If you really knew me.” When i tried to open it, I got the message “file not found.”)

    • desilef Says:

      Hi, Carol. I appreciated your recent posts which I read while on the run with a very annoying travel laptop – which is why you didn’t get any comments! I’m not sure what went wrong with the download. It worked OK just now from my computer, but here’s another link you might try if you feel driven to read about the project. http://sunnyvaleneighborhood.weebly.com/uploads/3/5/9/4/3594575/if_you_really_knew_me.pdf

      • carolahand Says:

        Thank you, Diane! This link worked for me. I read the first stories and absolutely love what you have done with this project! I look forward to reading the remainder when I return to my computer this evening from errands and yard work 🙂

        I’ve begun conceptualizing a story based on the community meeting I attended last night and your project has given me some important ideas that we could build on here. Of course I will acknowledge your inspiring work.

  4. desilef Says:

    Thank you! I’m stunned this gave you ideas. See, we never know where we’ll find inspiration — and you inspire many. Looking forward to your story.

  5. Ashana M Says:

    Glad you’re better now. Sorry I did not send a get well card or soup. 🙂

  6. desilef Says:

    Some hot curry to clear my lungs? It was surely not as bad as typhoid! Thank you for the thoughts.

Leave a Reply

